an artist in italy

Life is Short and the World is Wide.

Over a month of travelling, 3000+ photos later, seeing new things, meeting new people and now here I am sitting at home deciding how to write a proper summary of Italy… in one blog article. Right.

Well what I was reminded of on my trip was that there really is nothing greater than travel.  It has the ability to nurture and refresh your soul and whole being.  It allows you the opportunity to open your eyes to the possibilities of the world and to yourself.  It creates new understandings of other countries, people, art and history.  But it also helps you develop a greater appreciation of who you are, what you are capable of and essentially where you come from.

My trip consisted of runs through the Tuscan landscape balanced with daily cappuccinos, + gelato.  Full days of painting and drawing, site seeing Italian villages and cities. Eating the most thoughtful, mouth watering , fresh, local + homemade food. Cheese, bread, tomatoes, drinking wine.. a lot of wine. Meeting inspiring and wonderful people from around the globe (being the only Canadian..that was an experience in itself) and an instructor who blew me away. Everyday I was surrounded by rich culture, art and art history.  Relaxing in the countryside and genuinely soaking up every sensation + moment of being in Italy again was more perfect than I could have imagined. My dreams had nothing on my reality.

“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us. “

A huge thank you to Red Deer College for awarding me with a travel scholarship and allowing me to paint in Italy.


Leave a Reply

